Select a Language

Boards &

Blighted Property Review Committee
The Blighted Property Review Committee is a recreation of the Vacant Property Committee, which was once used by the City to rehabilitate vacant and blighted properties in Reading.  The Vacant Property Committee was composed of City staff.  The Blighted Property Review Committee is composed of representatives from City Council, the Planning Commission, and the Redevelopment Authority along with two at large citizens and a member representing the Mayor.
The Blighted Property Review Committee began by completing a project to identify and rate the blighted properties across Reading.  Approximately 1400 properties were identified.  Annually the Committee reviews the Blighted Property Map to identify individual blighted properties along with a target neighborhood and target area.  Property owners are contacted to arrange an inspection and are given an opportunity to renovate or turn the property over for demolition.  At time when property owners fail to respond to the notices, their properties enter into the eminent domain process through the Reading Redevelopment Authority, which takes 12-18 months.
The Blighted Property Review Committee has partnered with Our City Reading, Neighborhood Housing Services, Habitat for Humanity and the County ADD program (through the County Community Development Office) to assist with rehabilitation projects and demolition for neighborhood reuse.

Mission: To implement provisions of the Urban Redevelopment Law of 1945, as amended by Act 94 of 1978, further amended by Act 113 of 2002, promoting reuse and reinvestment in properties in the City of Reading.

Meetings: First Thursday at 6 pm in Council Chambers

Created by Ordinance 65-2006, amended 49, August 9 to include a removal process, amended 62, August 23 to change the term to four years amended October 2023 to reduce the membership to 5 and to add 2 alternates.

Mayor w/Council Approval 5 members 4 year term

Liaison: Linda Kelleher, 610-655-6204

 Solicitor Michelle Mayfield, Esq.

  5 members   4 year term  



Jaime Baez Jr, Alternate Council Rep        
O. Chris Miller,  Council Rep        
Peter Rye, Planning Rep 8/3/2023     8/3/2027
Thomas McMahon, Redevelopment Rep 8/1/2022       8/1/2026
Amy Woodward 03/11/2024     03/11/2028
Jaime Keith 11/10/2014     3/11/2028
Andrew Boyd 03/25/2024     03/24/2028
Nicholas Eyrich 11/10/2014   10/23/2023 10/23/2026