Courting Style: Women's Tennis Fashion

Tennis has been a popular activity for men and women alike since the 1870s, and developed initially as a casual leisure activity that men and women could partake in together at social gatherings. Early tennis fashion developed out of the styles and fabrics that were already in use for other popular outdoor activities, such as cricket and croquet. Like the game itself, tennis fashion has also seen tremendous changes over the years.

Just as every decade has had notable fashion tastemakers, tennis, too has had its share of trendsetters who dared to wear provocative attire on the court. Drawn from the collections at the Museum of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, Courting Style: Women’s Tennis Fashion explores this intersection of tennis and fashion.

With an emphasis on outfits worn by the great iconic players, such as Evonne Goolagong, Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert, Billie Jean King, Tracy Austin, Maria Sharapova, Venus Williams, Serena Williams, the exhibition explores developments in tennis fashion design as well as fabrications, trends, major championships, identity, and the players themselves.

From skirt lengths to color combinations and hair accessories, tennis fashions have had broader implications in the fashion world, as they reflect concurrent social and cultural contexts. While men’s tennis fashions have changed at slower rates, women’s tennis clothes are consistently a fiercely debated topic, even in regard to the most seemingly minimal alterations. Historian and author Jaime Schultz believes that “from the moment women first picked up their rackets, their attire inspired questions of decorum, social distinction, physicality, and femininity.”

Date: 

Thursday, January 28, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, January 29, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, January 30, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, January 31, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, February 1, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 2, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, February 3, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 4, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, February 5, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, February 6, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, February 7, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, February 8, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 9, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, February 10, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 11, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, February 12, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, February 13, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, February 14, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, February 15, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, February 17, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 18, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, February 19, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, February 20, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, February 21, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, February 22, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, February 23, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, February 24, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, February 25, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, February 26, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, February 27, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, February 28, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, March 1, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, March 2, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, March 3, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 4, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, March 5, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, March 6, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, March 7, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, March 8, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, March 9, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, March 10, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 11, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, March 12, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, March 13, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, March 14, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, March 15, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, March 16, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, March 17, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 18, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, March 19, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, March 20, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, March 21, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, March 22, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, March 23, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, March 24, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, March 25, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, March 26, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, March 27, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, March 28, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, March 29, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, March 30, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, March 31, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 1, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, April 2, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, April 3, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, April 4, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, April 5, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, April 6, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 8, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, April 9, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, April 10, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, April 11, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, April 12, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, April 13, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, April 14, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 15, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, April 16, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, April 17, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, April 18, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, April 19, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, April 20, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, April 21, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, April 23, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, April 24, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, April 25, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, April 26, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, April 27, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, April 28, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, April 29, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, April 30, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, May 1, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, May 2, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, May 3, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, May 4, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 6, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, May 7, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, May 8, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, May 9, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, May 10, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, May 11, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, May 12, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 13, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, May 14, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, May 15, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, May 16, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, May 17, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, May 18, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Friday, May 21, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Saturday, May 22, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Sunday, May 23, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Monday, May 24, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 - 11:00am to 5:00pm

Location

Reading Public Museum
500 Museum Rd
19611 Reading , PA
Phone: (610) 371-5850
Pennsylvania US

Website: 

https://www.readingpublicmuseum.org/exhibit-tennis