Calendar of Events




Tuesday, April 23, 2024

12:00 p.m.



  • EAC members: A. Sellers, B. Vitale, C. Curran-Myers, D. Beane, S. Bach, S. Thompson, J. Cole
  • Council Representatives – C. Miller, R. Nunez
  • City Staff – B. Ayers-Fisher, M. Smith, B. Murray, R. Gensemer, S. Bachman, S. Harrity, D. Anspach, R. Bradley, K. Zeiber, S. Wangolo


Public comment will be accepted in writing through an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  Written public comment must be submitted by 11:00 am on the day of the meeting.  All comments received will be read into the record.  Those wishing to make comment at the meeting must also register prior to 11:00 am the day of the meeting by emailing or calling 610-655-6204.

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 419 292 6522

Passcode: 972205

Dial by your location

  • 877 853 5257 US Toll-free
  • 888 475 4499 US Toll-free

I.       Opening Matters

  • Welcome from Chair
  • Call to order
  • Public comment
  • Approval of Minutes – March 26, 2024
  • Upcoming Meetings and Events


II.      Staff Updates (as needed)


III.    Old Business

  • Signage / Mapping Proposal, Funding - Cathy Curran-Myers, Sarah Bach, Bethany Ayers-Fisher
  • 2024 Great American Clean-Up and Earth Day – Ryan Bradley, Bethany Ayers-Fisher
  • Technical Assistance from the Water Center at UPenn and the University of Maryland Environmental Finance Center – Sarah Bach
  • Annual Report to City Council – Cathy Curran-Myers, Sarah Bach
  • Berks County EAC mixer – David Beane
  • Berks Nature Public Meetings
  • EPA Exide Cleanup Update
  • Goggleworks Rain Barrel Workshop


IV.    New Business

  • Beekeeping Zoning Amendment
  • Outreach and Engagement Intern
  • PFAs Update – David Beane


V.      Project Updates (as needed)

  • Communications Committee Update – Bill Vitale
  • Policy Committee Update – David Beane
    • Beekeeping
    • Shade Tree Ordinance Amendment
    • Single Use Plastic Ban
    • Non-use Aquifer Designation
  • Green Infrastructure Committee Update – Sarah Bach
  • Rain Garden Installations - Cathy Curran-Myers, Scott Bachman
  • Brownfields Database - David Beane
  • Innovation Corridor – Green Spaces
  • Climate Resiliency and Sustainability Plan – Bethany Ayers-Fisher
  • Urban Agriculture – Sarah Bach, Cathy Curran-Myers, Shelly Smith
  • Invasive Plants / Noxious Weeds Education – David Beane, Cathy Curran-Myers
  • MP3 Environmental Committee – Cathy Curran-Myers
  • Storm Water / MS4 Issues – Scott Bachman, Bill Murray
  • Solid Waste / Recycling – Steve Harrity
  • Lead Abatement Program – Jarel Melendez
  • BCTV Program – Ryan Bradley
  • City-owned Dams – David Anspach, Scott Bachman

VI.    Other Matters


VII.   Long Term Projects

  • Environmental Justice Issues - Cathy Curran-Myers
  • Code Review Committee – Bill Vitale
  • PFAs – Bill Murray
  • Zero Waste Plan – Bethany Ayers-Fisher
  • Comprehensive Plan


VIII. Next Meeting – Tuesday, May 28 at noon via Zoom


IX.     Adjourn